Register Login Scores

Fan Park

Who Deserves The PFA Player Of The Year Award The Most?

The five nominees for the English Premier League’s Player of the Year have been named, with no real surprises on the list, and the Fan Park Crew invite you into our discussion.

Who deserves the award most out of Diego Costa, Harry Kane, Eden Hazard, David de Gea and Alexis Sanchez.

Diego Costa                         

I’m not surprised at how well Costa’s done in England thus far, as we know he’s a striker who thrives on physical battles. He’s been consistently on the score sheet for Chelsea, but his injuries in 2015 have slowed down what was an incredible start. Personally, I feel that this award deserves to go to a player who has featured in almost all of their team’s games, and despite his impressive tally of 19 league goals, I don’t feel he should win the award.

Harry Kane

The Tottenham Hotspur forward deserves all the praise that he has received this season, as the last young English striker to be this exciting was Wayne Rooney - when he burst onto the scene for Everton. Like Costa, Kane has scored 19 league goals this campaign, earning himself an international call-up, where he scored on debut. He’s been excellent so far, and I believe he’s in with a great chance.

David De Gea

Manchester United’s goalkeeper has been brilliant all season for the Red Devils, deciding games from the other end of field. I believe that he’s been one of the most consistent performers in England, pulling off blinding saves in almost every game. I could highlight his heroics in United’s 3-0 win over Liverpool in December, but the Spaniard has performed every week, and for this reason, I believe de Gea could win the award.

Alexis Sanchez

The former Barcelona player started life in the Premier League like a house-on-fire, with fans asking how his former employers ever let him leave. Sanchez has scored 14 league goals thus far, while he’s played a hand in a further eight. However, after picking up an injury and serving some time on the sidelines, he’s hasn’t quite been back to his ruthless best. But having said that, I believe he still has a good chance of winning the award.

Eden Hazard

Here is my pick of the lot – Eden Hazard. The Belgian has been superb since Chelsea’s first game of the league campaign, earning himself a third-straight nomination for this prestigious award. I can’t think of one game where the 24-year-old hasn’t performed, even when the team aren’t at their best. Hazard has scored 17 goals, while he’s assisted a further 15 times, making me believe that he will win the award by some distance.

Who do you think will win the EPL’s Player of the Year Award? 


Top 5

Breaking: CAS Release Chiefs FIFA Ban Verdict

205 Oct 27, 2020 06:10 PM in Kaizer Chiefs

Messi Sends Message To Ronaldo

16 Oct 25, 2020 08:30 AM in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar Watch

Sundowns Agree Deal In Principle For Defender

40 Oct 27, 2020 10:48 AM in Mamelodi Sundowns

14 Footballers Who Have Degrees

27 Sep 16, 2020 08:30 PM in World News

Why Chiefs Can Register New Players – This Season!

34 Oct 28, 2020 06:33 PM in Kaizer Chiefs

Downs Set Record Straight On Mido!

32 Oct 27, 2020 01:15 PM in Mamelodi Sundowns

Furious Ronaldo Breaks Silence After Latest Positive COVID-19 Test

10 Oct 28, 2020 03:30 PM in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar Watch

Breaking: CAS Release Chiefs FIFA Ban Verdict

205 Oct 27, 2020 06:10 PM in Kaizer Chiefs

Hunt Hails 'Outstanding' Young Chiefs Star

84 Oct 27, 2020 10:34 PM in Kaizer Chiefs

Downs Set Record Straight On Mido!

32 Oct 27, 2020 01:15 PM in Mamelodi Sundowns

11 Footballers Who Went Broke

33 Jun 10, 2020 07:15 PM in World News

NPA's Latest Update On Lorch’s Court Case!   

18 Oct 27, 2020 05:33 PM in Orlando Pirates

The World's 10 Highest-Paid Football Stars Today

3 Sep 14, 2020 08:30 PM in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar Watch

Maritzburg Confirm Coaching Exit

5 Oct 27, 2020 03:31 PM in PSL