FIFA and CAF Referees Development Officer and Instructor, Jerome Damon cleared up any and all confusion regarding whether or not Maritzburg United’s winning goal was scored from an offside position.
Social media was sent in to frenzy on Sunday afternoon, following Kaizer Chiefs' exit from the Telkom Knockout competition at the hands of Maritzburg, with some fans in the football fraternity pointing out that the Team Of Choice’s second goal, which was scored by Judas Moseamedi, may have been offside.
“Being in an offside position is not an offense; the offense is judged the moment the ball is last played by a teammate. There was no offside in Maritzburg's second goal,” Damon explained.
“A player is in an offside position when he is closer to the goal line than his second last opponent and the ball. Therefore, the Maritzburg United goalscorer was behind the ball and was not offside.
“There is no issue of gaining an advantage because gaining an advantage is judged if the player is in an offside position and if the ball is deflected or rebounds from a teammate, opponent or goal posts.
“Therefore, Maritzburg United scored a legitimate and good goal,” he said.