Tinkler: Referee's Decisions Confused Me
Orlando Pirates coach Eric Tinkler admitted he was confused by two of the referee's decisions during the 4-1 win over Golden Arrows on Saturday.
The Buccaneers were 3-0 ahead at half-time and cruising but were then dealt a hefty blow in the 53rd minute when Masalesa was shown a dubious second yellow card for time wasting.
Tinkler stated that he didn't understand the decision and also wanted clarity about the call to show Edwin Gyimah a yellow for coming back onto the field when it seemed as though he was given permission to do so.
He said, "In the first half we were a little bit casual. We scored three goals but we could have scored a lot more. We had a number of opportunities to get in behind them, but we didn't. We were very casual on the ball. Defensively we also gave them too much space.
"It's difficult to comment on the second half because I don't know why Masalesa was shown his second yellow card.
"The marking on the goal was sloppy. We switched off and they took a quick free kick and we got punished.
"Also the decision from the referee to give Gyimah a yellow I don't understand. That one must be explained to me because we lose him for the next match.
"But the boys showed character and worked hard to make sure we get the three points."