News Article  | PSL

Who Dominated Coach of The Season Awards In Last Five Campaigns?

Soccer Laduma Takes A Look At Which Coaches Dominated The PSL Awards In The Past Five Seasons

By Soccer Laduma - May 22, 2018 03:17 PM


With the 2017/18 Premier Soccer League awards ceremony coming up, Soccer Laduma looks at the winners of the coach of the season award in the last five campaigns. 

Read: Bucs Closing In On Top Signing? 

2012/13 – Stuart Baxter 

Stuart Baxter was awarded the 2012/13 Coach of the Season awarded, after winning the Absa Premiership and the Nedbank Cup with Kaizer Chiefs that season.

2013/14 – Pitso Mosimane 

Pitso Mosimane was crowned the Coach of the Season during this campaign, having won the Absa Premiership league title with Mamelodi Sundowns.

2014/15 – Stuart Baxter

Stuart Baxter once again scooped the Coach of The Season award in this campaign, winning the 2014/15 Absa Premiership title and the 2014 MTN8 cup competition. 

Read: Zambian Coach Set For Debut After Signing PSL Deal  

2015/16 – Pitso Mosimane 

Pitso Mosimane was awarded the Coach of The Season accolade once again, winning the 2015/16 Absa Premiership league title and the 2015 Nedbank Cup with Mamelodi Sundowns.

2016/17 - Gavin Hunt 

Gavin Hunt picked up the Coach of the Season award in the last campaign, after guiding Bidvest Wits to the MTN8 cup competition victory and the club’s first ever Absa Premiership league title.

2017/18 – Unknown

Pitso Mosimane, Maritzburg United’s Fadlu Davids and Orlando Pirates’ Milutin Sredojevic have all been nominated for the Absa Premiership coach of the month this season, with Mosimane the only head coach to win a domestic trophy.

It remains to be seen who will walk away with the Coach of the Season accolade at the annual awards ceremony this month. 


Related Articles


Tabali Joined: 15 Feb 2010
No badges available
Tabali May 23, 2018 08:48 AM
Pitso deserves it, no need for nominees its total waste of time
Qondeni Joined: 05 Jun 2014
No badges available
Qondeni May 22, 2018 06:50 PM
EPHIE Joined: 02 May 2013
No badges available
EPHIE May 22, 2018 05:54 PM
The coach that took the league must be coach of the season,I'm saying this coz pitso failed 2 win the league,but took caf champions league&was given African coach of the year&never given coach of the season&it went to Gavin hunt as he won the PSL period
ZaneMK85 Joined: 02 Apr 2018
No badges available
ZaneMK85 May 22, 2018 04:51 PM
@Myaka weliPhefeni Why? What title did he achieve this season?
Myaka weliPhefeni Joined: 14 Jul 2016
No badges available
Myaka weliPhefeni May 22, 2018 04:26 PM
Fadlu mst take this award
mbixane Joined: 04 Dec 2014
No badges available
mbixane May 22, 2018 04:21 PM
Pitso again the season
Umngcatshi Joined: 26 Mar 2018
No badges available
Umngcatshi May 22, 2018 04:03 PM
The coach that wins the league takes the crown. The stats are saying it all.
simphiwesmallz Joined: 31 Jan 2016
No badges available
simphiwesmallz May 22, 2018 03:50 PM
so it mean Rats are 6+ years without the league trophy,,,,its a shame.
Mentashe Joined: 21 Dec 2015
No badges available
Mentashe May 22, 2018 03:50 PM
JackKhosi Joined: 20 Mar 2018
No badges available
JackKhosi May 22, 2018 03:45 PM
Were Rats coachless in the previous 5 years?
DaBrisco Nation Joined: 09 Jun 2015
No badges available
DaBrisco Nation May 22, 2018 03:42 PM
Without any doubt Pitso deserves the award . The man won league , so theres nothing much to argue with that . Fadlu davids has transformed maritzburg to winning mentality with unknowns players . He deserves to be mentioned though

Express Yourself

Your chance to say what you need to.

Create your blog

What You May Have Missed