Chiefs’ Latest Spot Kick: Penalty Or Not?
Kaizer Chiefs brought a seven-game winless streak to an end last night, but should their game-winning penalty have been given at all?
It was George Lebese who stepped up to slot home after Auguston Leonard was adjudged to have fouled William Twala inside the box, however, replays showed that it actually took place outside.
Chiefs were on the wrong end of a bad refereeing decision last week when Robert Ng’ambi’s strike was given as a goal even though it didn’t cross the line, although they seem to have had a bit of luck this time around.
Highlands Park’s head coach, Allan Freese, was understandably unhappy after conceding four penalties in two matches, saying after the game, “"Yeah, it was unlucky for that today. But how were they beating us now? Two games, how many penalties? So let's leave it that."
Law 12 of the FIFA rules states that, “If a defender starts holding an attacker outside the penalty area and continues holding him inside the penalty area, the referee must award a penalty kick.”
As can be seen during this incident, Leonard is clearly not holding Twala once the pair move inside of the box, therefore it should have been a free-kick given and not a penalty.
Do you think it was a correct penalty decision?