Register Login Scores


TTM's Rakhale Denies Former Side Victory

DStv Premiership

Result: Chippa United 1-1 Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila

Date: 29 November 2020

Venue: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium

Chippa United were denied their second win of the DStv Premiership after they were held to a 1-1 draw by ten-man Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila on Sunday afternoon.

View The PSL Results

Chippa made a number of changes, most notably in goal as goalkeeper Veli Mothwa left the club to join AmaZulu, fellow shot-stopper Mlungisi Mazibuko came in for his debut while Chidi Kwem started ahead of Bienvenu Eva Nga.

The game was open in the early stages and Kwem came close to grabbing the lead for the hosts in the 23rd minute with a diving header at the back post that goalkeeper Washington Arubu parried away off the line.

Kwem eventually broke the deadlock for Lehlohonolo Seema' charges two minutes later with a close range finish after a scramble inside the box from a corner.

TTM were getting into the game in the closing phase of the first stanza, putting Chippa under pressure but after creating chances they could not find the finishing touches and the Chilli Boys went to the break leading by an odd goal.

Thabo Rakhale eventually levelled matters for Joel Masutha's troops five minutes from the break with a strike from the centre of the box after Chippa failed to clear their lines.

Vhadau Vha Damani were reduced to ten men on the hour-mark after Meshack Maphangule got his second yellow card and was sent off.

With TTM were defending deep in their own half in the closing phase, Kwem almost got the winner for the Chilli Boys in the last minute but his glancing header sailed over the bar as the visitors held on for the share of the spoils.

Here's how they started:

Chippa: 1. Mazibuko, 4. Hanamub, 44. Nhlapho, 18. Mthethwa, 22. Khooa,  28. Labitso, 13. Mokhele, 35. Sibeko, 8. Maloisane, 10. Mogakwe, 15. Kwem.

Subs: 16. Mtshali, 3. Nkwewana, 11. Maziya, 36. Francis, 26. Sekotlong, 25. Cezu, 7. Mbenyane, 24. Rae, 9. Eva Nga.

TTM: 36. Arubi, 32. Lukhubeni, 27. Ndengane, 19. Ravhuhali, 2. Nkili, 13. Maphangule, 2. Theron, 30. Rakhale, 14. Lamola, 9. Manzini.

Subs: 16. Mhlongo, 24. Thopola, 6. Timm, 22. Thangwane, 25. Mphamaniso, 12. Shonga, 23. Mnyamane, 11. Ngele, 10. Ngema.


Top 5

12 Players Who Went Bankrupt

22 Dec 07, 2020 12:34 PM in World News

Nedbank Cup Last 32 Fixtures Revealed

132 Jan 14, 2021 06:28 PM in Nedbank Cup

Official: 10 More January Transfers Confirmed

Jan 22, 2021 07:31 PM in International Transfers

Chiefs' Plans To Catch Downs

147 Jan 08, 2021 07:05 AM in Kaizer Chiefs

Check Out Moleko’s Farm Ride Flexes

5 Jan 21, 2021 03:10 PM in Stars & Their Cars

Official: 10 More January Transfers Confirmed

Jan 22, 2021 07:31 PM in International Transfers

Pogba: Rashford & Martial Don't Have Cavani's Quality

11 Jan 22, 2021 08:31 AM in English Premier League

Crucial Injury Update On Chiefs’ Frosler

36 Jan 23, 2021 09:25 AM in Kaizer Chiefs

Tau Earns Another Start As Brighton Advance In FA Cup

14 Jan 23, 2021 07:12 PM in FA Cup

14 Footballers Who Have Degrees

28 Sep 16, 2020 08:30 PM in World News

Chiefs Explain Unpleasant Trip To Angola

56 Jan 07, 2021 09:14 AM in Kaizer Chiefs

11 Footballers Who Went Broke

33 Jun 10, 2020 07:15 PM in World News

Festival & Co Lauded As Unbeaten Swallows Prepare For Bucs

6 Jan 07, 2021 03:12 PM in Orlando Pirates