Register Login Scores

Ajax Crowned MTN8 Champions

MTN8 Final

Full Time: Ajax Cape Town 1-0 Kaizer Chiefs

Date: 19 September 2015

Venue: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium

A penalty goal from Nathan Pualse handed Ajax Cape Town a 1-0 win over Kaizer Chiefs in the MTN8 final at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The opening half was dominated by the Urban Warriors who had their first effort on goal in the eighth minute when Paulse met a right-wing cross from Cecil Lolo, but saw his 12-yard header sail over the crossbar.

In the 23rd minute Ajax thought they had taken the lead when a left-sided free-kick from Lolo was headed home by Mosa Lebusa, but his goal was disallowed for off-sides.

Five minutes later the Urban Warriors were bitterly unlucky not to find the back of the net when Paulse met a right-sided free-kick from Lolo, but his ten-yard volley struck the crossbar.

In the 33rd minute another inch perfect right-wing cross from Lolo was met by Abbubaker Mobara, but his 12-yard header was superbly saved by Itumeleng Khune.

A minute before the break Lolo tried his luck from long range, but saw his thunderous effort sail just wide of the target.

The half ended 0-0.

Ajax continued to pile on the pressure at the start of the second half and were afforded the perfect opportunity to take the lead in the 55th minute when the referee awarded a penalty after adjudging Erick Mathoho to have pulled down Paulse inside the box.

Paulse stepped up and made no mistake from the spot to give his side the lead, 1-0.

Chiefs tried to find their way back into the match after that, but they could not find any rhythm and struggled to penetrate the Ajax defence.

In the end the urban Warriors cruised to a comfortable 1-0 victory to be crowned MTN8 champions and collect the R8 million prize money.


Ajax Cape Town: Jaakkola, Lolo, Mobara, Coetzee, Lebusa, Mzwakali (Cale 82’), Mdabuka, Graham (Scott 85’), Norodien (Isaacs 73’), Losper, Paulse.

Kaizer Chiefs: Khune, Gaxa, Mathoho, Xulu, Masilela, Tshabalala, Katsande, Letsholonyane, Lebese (Maluleka 79’), Parker (Manqele 58’), Mthembu (Abraw 58’).


Ntseki: SA Ready For Anybody At U17 World Cup


Top 5

Billiat Out Again For Chiefs…

104 Dec 06, 2019 10:06 AM in Kaizer Chiefs

The 10 Richest Footballers In The World

15 Nov 24, 2019 07:17 PM in World News

SAFA Boasts Cutting Down On R80 Million

8 Dec 06, 2019 07:45 AM in PSL

Best XI To Never Win The Ballon d'Or

19 Dec 04, 2019 07:22 PM in Ballon d’Or

Teko Takes Up Coaching Role

15 Dec 06, 2019 09:03 AM in PSL

Best XI To Never Win The Ballon d'Or

19 Dec 04, 2019 07:22 PM in Ballon d’Or

Messi Calls African Star's Ballon d'Or Place 'A Shame'

31 Dec 05, 2019 08:01 PM in Ballon d’Or

5 Players On Chiefs’ Radar So Far…

76 Dec 05, 2019 04:01 PM in Kaizer Chiefs

CR7 Teammate Makes Shocking Ballon d'Or Accusation

72 Dec 03, 2019 04:32 PM in Real Madrid

Check Out Mane's Flashy Car Collection

2 Dec 07, 2019 08:00 AM in Fan Park

Larsen Appointed New Coach Of PSL Club

14 Dec 06, 2019 10:33 AM in Siyagobhoza

9 Players Who Left Barca Because Of Messi

27 Nov 03, 2019 10:21 AM in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar Watch

The Highest-Paid Player At Each EPL Club Revealed

21 Sep 15, 2019 07:15 PM in Cadbury

PSL Club Distances Itself From Lebese Talk

18 Dec 06, 2019 12:14 PM in PSL