News Article  | MTN8

All 9 Of The MTN8 Champions

Looking back at previous MTN8 winners

By Soccer Laduma - Aug 12, 2017 09:06 AM

The new season is now underway after last night’s opening MTN8 match between Golden Arrows and Bidvest Wits, and, ahead of today’s games, we take a look at the previous winners of the competition since its inception in 2008.

Sundowns Defender Expected To Be Sidelined For The Year

Click through the images above or see our list below to see which team has won every edition of the MTN8 under its current name.

The MTN8 was first contested in 2008, after it was rebranded from the SAA 8 (2003-2007), which was also a rebranding of the BP Top 8 Cup (1972-2002). Reigning champions Bidvest Wits lifted the trophy for the first time in their history in 2016, following Ajax Cape Town, who also won it just once in 2015.

Soweto giants, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates share the record for the most wins in the competition, with two titles each, while the Tshwane-based teams, Mamelodi Sundowns and SuperSport United have never won the tournament under its current name.

Lebese Requests Chiefs Exit?

Other teams with one win each are Golden Arrows, Moroka Swallows and Platinum Stars.

These are all of the MTN8 champions since 2008:

2016: Bidvest Wits

2015: Ajax Cape Town

2014: Kaizer Chiefs

2013: Platinum Stars

2012: Moroka Swallows

2011: Orlando Pirates

2010: Orlando Pirates

2009: Golden Arrows

2008: Kaizer Chiefs


Related Articles


Mightily mderro Joined: 08 Jul 2017
No badges available
Mightily mderro Aug 12, 2017 03:22 PM
No dunuza in the list!
Nhlpato Joined: 14 Dec 2013
No badges available
Nhlpato Aug 12, 2017 12:59 PM
MTN8 is nt an important trophy
Fisto vs starless idiots Joined: 11 Aug 2017
No badges available
Fisto vs starless idiots Aug 12, 2017 12:58 PM
Sundowns is busy winning big trophies not this plastic things where you play just 3 games than you are champions mxm mtn 8 is a preseason to Sundowns
kaizer kings Joined: 15 Dec 2010
No badges available
kaizer kings Aug 12, 2017 12:39 PM
Dunu will never win this cup, the bad luck of cancelling the MTN sponsor will haunt them in this cup forever
siyas23 Joined: 16 Dec 2013
No badges available
siyas23 Aug 12, 2017 12:25 PM
Dunu won it four times in a row lol
Mentashe Joined: 21 Dec 2015
No badges available
Mentashe Aug 12, 2017 12:22 PM
miggtybucs1 Joined: 04 May 2016
No badges available
miggtybucs1 Aug 12, 2017 12:01 PM
Pirates the only team to win it consecutively .
thokoza_walikhosi Joined: 05 Feb 2014
No badges available
thokoza_walikhosi Aug 12, 2017 11:57 AM
Mr editor there are 9 teams, do your calculations pls don't mislead us.
Myste Joined: 20 Nov 2014
No badges available
Myste Aug 12, 2017 11:45 AM
Sunflops will never win mtn8.
Star Sa Makhosi 7 Joined: 13 May 2017
No badges available
Star Sa Makhosi 7 Aug 12, 2017 11:43 AM
We need it the most xem.
Mxolisingongoma Joined: 26 May 2015
No badges available
Mxolisingongoma Aug 12, 2017 11:25 AM
@mosville so?
mosville Joined: 20 Aug 2016
No badges available
mosville Aug 12, 2017 11:19 AM
So dunudunu they haven't taste it n both pirates n chiefs won it twice...pirates is the only team to win it back to back
Sbudah27 Joined: 26 Jan 2012
No badges available
Sbudah27 Aug 12, 2017 11:06 AM
hpe downs will win this trophy dis year
bokoloshe Joined: 15 Feb 2010
No badges available
bokoloshe Aug 12, 2017 10:58 AM
@Mtwesi, why 7 when he is talking about 9 Championships and not clubs? It has been played and won 9 times since it's branding.
MSANDROTIC Joined: 18 Jun 2013
No badges available
MSANDROTIC Aug 12, 2017 10:36 AM
Oh yeah
Hloni'mayeng2 Joined: 26 Feb 2017
No badges available
Hloni'mayeng2 Aug 12, 2017 10:24 AM
I remember the wits & sundowns game... klate rlly killed pity's spirit thr
Mtheeya Joined: 13 Mar 2016
No badges available
Mtheeya Aug 12, 2017 10:12 AM
The editor meant all 7 I suppose.
Ntuthuko5110 Joined: 17 Feb 2014
No badges available
Ntuthuko5110 Aug 12, 2017 10:10 AM
@Mtwesi to us mtn8 is something that we dont focus too much in it .we have bigger cups to win like champs league. Zebraz have two years without touching a cup plus starless.
montjos Joined: 10 Apr 2014
No badges available
montjos Aug 12, 2017 09:45 AM
That's our target right now, operation green and yellow brigades...
Mtwesi Joined: 17 Aug 2016
No badges available
Mtwesi Aug 12, 2017 09:25 AM
It has been a 9 years Sundowns see this cup on TV not torching it. Dunusa

Express Yourself

Your chance to say what you need to.

Create your blog

What You May Have Missed