News Article  | World News

Previous CAF African Player of the Year Winners

Previous CAF African Player Of The Year Winners

By Kurt Buckerfield - Jan 04, 2018 12:50 PM @KurtLaduma

The 2017 CAF African Player of the Year will be announced on Thursday, so ahead of the exciting news, here are the previous winners of the award!

Tired of reading? Click through the gallery above to see the 16 previous winners of the CAF African Player of the Year award.

The first official handing out of the award took place in 1992, when the prize was given to the sensational Abedi Pele, who at the time was playing for Marseille in France.

Former Nigeria internationals Rashidi Yekini and Emmanuel Amunike followed in 1993 and in 1994, respectively, before George Weah won the award in 1995 – the same year he won the FIFA Ballon d'Or.

Ex-Arsenal and Nigeria striker Nwankwo Kanu followed Weah in 1996, while his countryman Victor Ikpeba was named the winner the year after that. Former Morocco international Mustapha Hadji picked up the coveted prize in 1998, before Kanu again won it in 1999.

Cameroon's Patrick Mboma (2000) and Senegal's El Hadji Diouf (2001 and 2002) followed, before former FC Barcelona striker Samuel Eto'o became the first player to win the award on three consecutive occasions (2003, 2004 and 2005).

Ivory Coast legend Didier Drogba broke Eto'o's run in 2006, followed by Frederic Kanoute (2007), while Emmanuel Adebayor won it in 2008. Drogba, however, was not finished as he lifted his second title in 2009.

The year after that, Eto'o won the award a fourth time, but Yaya Toure then did even better, winning the prize on four successive occasions between 2011 and 2014.

10 Real Madrid Stars Linked With Exits

Borussia Dortmund attacker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, who is among the finalists this year along with Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane, won the award in 2015, while the 2016 prize was given to Leicester City star Riyad Mahrez.

Who do you think is the greatest African player of all time? Have your say in the comments section below.


Related Articles


Jeff-Bale11 Joined: 16 Apr 2014
No badges available
Jeff-Bale11 Jan 04, 2018 07:14 PM
But all of them were mediocre in a World Cup ... AFCON great ...cows WC
murendeni joe Joined: 20 Feb 2015
No badges available
murendeni joe Jan 04, 2018 07:02 PM
These are legends
Twist'embengeni Joined: 25 Oct 2016
No badges available
Twist'embengeni Jan 04, 2018 06:52 PM
Samuel Eto'o without a doubt
SOTJAMULA Joined: 23 May 2014
No badges available
SOTJAMULA Jan 04, 2018 01:03 PM
Mo Salah
Maclane Joined: 18 Sep 2015
No badges available
Maclane Jan 04, 2018 01:02 PM
Mo Salah 2018

Express Yourself

Your chance to say what you need to.

Create your blog

What You May Have Missed