Nigeria Star Slams Referee For Not Awarding Penalty
Nigeria Star Slams Referee For Not Awarding Penalty Against Argentina
A Nigeria star has lambasted the referee’s decision to not award the Super Eagles a penalty in their 2018 FIFA World Cup Group D loss to Argentina on Tuesday night, especially after the match official consulted VAR.
Click through the mini-gallery to see pictures from Nigeria’s loss to Argentina.
With the game tied at 1-1, Nigeria players surrounded the referee when it appeared that Marcos Rojo handballed the ball in his own penalty area in the second half of the clash. The match official used VAR, but decided against awarding the spot-kick, much to the dismay of the African nation.
Rojo later sent Argentina through with a late goal to make the score 2-1, but Nigeria captain John Obi Mikel feels his team were hard done by.
"I don't understand how that wasn't a penalty, for me it was a clear handball," he said, according to FourFourTwo.
"It was a clear penalty. Maybe the referee has given the first penalty and doesn't want to give a second one.
"But a penalty is a penalty. He (the referee) looked at the VAR, (we asked him) did the ball hit the hand? He said 'yes', but why it's not a penalty? I don't understand."
Argentina will go up against France in the Round of 16 on Saturday afternoon, while Nigeria were sent home.
Do you think Argentina deserved to go through to the next round? Let us know in the comments section below.