News Article  | UEFA Champions League

Top Goalscorers Who’ve Never Won The UCL

Top Goalscorers Who’ve Never Won The UEFA Champions League

By David Kappel - Feb 22, 2018 08:00 PM @kappilinho

Some of the most prolific goalscorers have actually never won a UEFA Champions League medal. Here are the competition’s top scorers, including a Manchester United striker and a former Real Madrid star, who have never lifted the coveted trophy.

Click through the gallery to see the top goalscorers in UCL history, who failed to lift the trophy, according to UEFA.

Robert Lewandowski moved into 12th position in the competition’s all-time ranking this week, overtaking African legend Didier Drogba after scoring his 45th goal.

However, the Bayern Munich forward is yet to claim a UCL winners’ medal. But he is not the best goalscorer – based on stats – to have never won the Champions League.

Manchester United’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic has scored 49 goals for seven European giants without ever winning a final. But even the Swede is not the record striker to have never won the trophy. That in-official award goes to Ruud van Nistelrooy.

Read: The Top 10 Goalscorers In UCL So Far

The former Los Blancos, Manchester United and PSV striker has scored 60 goals, which sees him in fourth place among the competition’s all-time record scorers, but was never lucky enough to win Europe’s elite competition.

Click through the gallery to see more of the best goalscorers in UCL history, who have never won the title, and let us know who do you think would have deserved the title the most.


Related Articles


No comments yet

Express Yourself

Your chance to say what you need to.

Create your blog

What You May Have Missed