After making a strange admission following Real Madrid’s UEFA Champions League win against Ajax Amsterdam on Wednesday night, captain Sergio Ramos now faces a potential suspension.
Click the mini-gallery to see pictures of Real's win over Ajax!
Los Blancos scored twice away from home to beat the Dutch side 2-1 in the first leg of the round of 16, which puts the Spanish giants in a great position to qualify for the next round of the competition.
With the score at 1-1, substitute Marco Asensio scored late to give the reigning European champions an advantage on aggregate.
Two minutes after going ahead, Real captain Ramos saw his name go into the referee’s book for a late challenge on an opponent, which sees him suspended for the second leg.
The Spaniard then suggested to the press in a post-match interview that he got carded on purpose, implying he would rather miss the second leg than potentially go into the quarter-final stages having to play with caution.
"Yes, the truth is that seeing the result… it’s something I had in mind," he said, according to the Metro.
"It is not to underestimate the opposition but sometimes you have to make tough decisions."
Two years ago, in Europe, UEFA extended Dani Carvajal’s one-match ban to three games after he was adjudged to have picked up a yellow card intentionally.
Ramos could face a similar ban, though he did take to Twitter following his admission to backtrack on his statements.
The tweet above roughly translates to: "I want to make it clear that it hurts more than anyone, that I have not forced the card, as I did against Roma in my previous game of Champions League, and that I will support from the stands as a fan with the illusion of being in rooms."
Do you think Ramos should be suspended for his remarks? Let us know in the comments section below.