Marcelo Admits To Handball Against Bayern
Real Madrid defender Marcelo Admits To Handball Against Bayern Munich
Real Madrid stalwart Marcelo admits that Bundesliga giants Bayern Munich should have been awarded a penalty during Tuesday night’s UEFA Champions League second leg semi-final.
The Brazilian was involved in a controversial moment in the match as he blocked a shot from Joshua Kimmich with his arm in the 18-yard box just before half-time with the game evenly poised at 1-1.
After the game, the full back told the media that he believed the decision should have gone against him, but he didn’t want to elaborate too much on it.
"It’s a handball, it hit me on the hand, and I think it’s a penalty," Marcelo said, as quoted by Sport.
"If I say it didn’t hit me, I’d be lying, but football is like that.
"I don’t talk about referees, but it’s clear that sometimes they make decisions in your favour and other times against you, but whatever happens, you have to play football.”
The 29-year-old also took the opportunity to praise his teammate Karim Benzema, who ended up finding the back of the net twice.
“It’s clear that it had to come, Karim is a great player, and he doesn’t have to score goals every day to show what he’s worth," the Brazilian added.
"I don't think that Karim thinks he lifted a weight off his shoulders. He works very hard for the team. Everyone has bad days once in a while, but he deserved to have a match like tonight."
Real are on track to win three consecutive Champions League trophies and will face either Liverpool or Roma in the final of this season's competition.
Do you think Los Blancos got another favourable call in a crucial European game? Have your say in the comments section below.