Register Login Live

Ballon d’Or

The 10 Players Who Won The Ballon D'Or More Than Once

While it is well known that Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have won multiple Ballon d'Or awards, here all 10 legendary players who have been handed the prestigious accolade more than once.

Click through the gallery above to see 10 footballers who won the Ballon d’Or on more than one occasion!

The 2021 Ballon d'Or ceremony will be held in Paris on Monday night, with the likes of Messi, Robert Lewandowski, Karim Benzema and Jorginho among the favourites for the esteemed individual prize.

Over the past 12 years, the award has been dominated with nominations and wins by Messi and his longstanding rival Cristiano Ronaldo, who have each made history with unprecedented success in the men's category.

While the Argentine has been named the victor of the trophy on a record-breaking six occasions, Ronaldo has celebrated five Ballon d'Or wins, with his first coming as a Manchester United player in 2008.

Messi was crowned the winner for the first time the following year, before going on to cement himself as one of the all-time greats with another three consecutive wins in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Ronaldo broke the former Barcelona forward's streak with brilliance of his own in 2013 and 2014, before Messi claimed his fifth title in 2015. In typical fashion, and with remarkable determination, the Portuguese responded with victories in 2016 and 2017 to draw level with his nemesis.

Then, finally, in 2018, someone other than Messi and Ronaldo was awarded the prize for the first time since 2008 when Luka Modric beat his peers to become the first Croatian to be handed the coveted Golden Ball.

In 2019, it was Messi again who was named the winner, with the 2020 edition being cancelled, perhaps controversially, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

'Signing Messi Was A Mistake'

Before this two-man silverware-laden reign, however, other iconic figures of the beautiful game had established themselves as Ballon d'Or dominators, such as legendary Real Madrid attacker Alfredo Di Stefano, who, in 1959, became the first player to claim the award twice after winning it two years prior.

Later, it was Dutch phenomenon Johan Cruyff who would go on to be the first to be handed the individual accolade three times, with his famous victories coming in 1971, 1973 and 1974 – click through the gallery above to see more players who lifted it more than just once!

The 2021 Ballon d'Or top three has reportedly been leaked

'I Will Tell Salah To Leave Liverpool For Chelsea'

'Ghana Coach Should Recall Boateng For World Cup Play-Offs'

Klopp Sends Warning To Rivals About Man Utd New Coach


Top 5

12 Of Chiefs' January Transfer Window Signings

33 Jan 12, 2022 09:59 AM in Kaizer Chiefs

Managers Who’ve Already Been Sacked This Season

1 Nov 08, 2021 12:26 PM in English Premier League

Latest Setback Brings Downs Top Scorer To A Halt

2 Jan 12, 2022 01:32 PM in Mamelodi Sundowns

7 Players Xavi Could Get Rid Of At Barca

5 Nov 09, 2021 01:26 PM in LaLiga

8 Football Kits That Were Banned

Jan 12, 2022 12:22 PM in International

12 Of Chiefs' January Transfer Window Signings

33 Jan 12, 2022 09:59 AM in Kaizer Chiefs

'Unhappy' Ronaldo Breaks Silence

1 Jan 13, 2022 08:22 AM in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar/Mbappe Watch

Pirates Under Pressure To Make Zungu Decision

12 Jan 13, 2022 11:28 AM in Orlando Pirates

'World Richest Footballer' Finds New Club

9 Dec 27, 2021 02:35 PM in World News

Amrouche Explains SA Visit, References Chiefs Link

16 Jan 13, 2022 01:02 PM in Kaizer Chiefs

All The Stadiums That Will Host Afcon Matches

2 Dec 10, 2021 07:29 PM in African Football

Chiefs To Lose Out On Mzansi’s Hottest Talent?

136 Jan 11, 2022 04:53 PM in Kaizer Chiefs