Register Login Scores

Ballon d’Or

The Best FIFA Men's Footballer Announced

FIFA has crowned Robert Lewandowski The Best Men's Player in 2020, with the Bayern Munich striker beating Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to the accolade.

Scroll through the gallery above to see all the final nominees for the award!

For more than a decade, the Argentine and the Portuguese have dominated the FIFA awards, having won 11 out of the past 12 Player of the Year titles between them since 2008, with only Luka Modric disrupting their reign in 2018.

This year, however, the two greats were beaten by Lewandowski after his record-breaking campaign helped inspire Bayern Munich to an historic treble last season, with the club claiming the Bundesliga, the German Cup and the UEFA Champions League titles.

The Poland striker also won the Golden Boot award in each competition – something neither Messi nor Ronaldo managed to achieve so far – and ultimately netted an incredible 55 goals in just 47 appearances.

Scroll through the gallery below to see the 2020 FIFA World XI:

Lewandowski claimed FIFA's The Best accolade after already being named the 2019/20 UEFA Men's Player of the Year. He also looked to be a shoo-in for the prestigious Ballon d'Or title before award organisers France Football scrapped this year's ceremony as a result of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Remember, FIFA's The Best awards reward the best player in each category for their achievements during the period from 20 July 2019 to 7 October 2020.

"The winners of The Best FIFA Men's Player will be selected by an international jury comprising the current coaches of all men's national teams (one per team), the current captains of all men's national teams (one per team), one specialist journalist from each territory represented by a national team, and fans from all over the world registered on," FIFA explained.

"Each of the four groups of voters within the jury has the same electoral weight irrespective of the actual number of voters in those groups (i.e. the votes of the coaches, the captains, the specialist journalists and the fans shall each make up one quarter of the poll, notwithstanding the number of voters in each group).

"Each member of the jury will be requested to nominate, in decreasing order of merit, the three players whom, in accordance with the criteria set out in articles 2 and 3 above, they consider most deserving of the respective award. The three players nominated by each jury member will receive five points, three points or one point respectively, and the award is bestowed upon the player who receives the most scoring points."

Neymar Sends Message To Messi

Messi Named Best Forward In 2020, CR7 Only 3rd!

Ronaldo Beats Messi To Major Award


Top 5

Agent Confirms Mokoena Deal!

222 Jan 25, 2022 02:49 PM in Mamelodi Sundowns

Managers Who’ve Already Been Sacked This Season

1 Nov 08, 2021 12:26 PM in English Premier League

Pitso’s Al Ahly Future Uncertain As Club Breaks Silence

12 Jan 25, 2022 10:55 AM in Players Abroad

7 Players Xavi Could Get Rid Of At Barca

5 Nov 09, 2021 01:26 PM in LaLiga

SSU & Mbule Set For Crucial Talks? Downs, Chiefs Watch...

22 Jan 25, 2022 10:00 AM in Mamelodi Sundowns

Agent Confirms Mokoena Deal!

222 Jan 25, 2022 02:49 PM in Mamelodi Sundowns

Gallery: Chiefs Get Busy With Camp In Cape Town

24 Jan 24, 2022 11:03 AM in Kaizer Chiefs

'Messi Called Me A Donkey!'

11 Jan 24, 2022 08:22 AM in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar/Mbappe Watch

Khanye On Sithebe To Chiefs: I’m Not Going To Be Excited

35 Jan 25, 2022 09:04 AM in Kaizer Chiefs

'World Richest Footballer' Finds New Club

9 Dec 27, 2021 02:35 PM in World News

Saavedra Speaks Ahead Of Sensational Sundowns Move

19 Jan 25, 2022 01:00 PM in Mamelodi Sundowns

All The Stadiums That Will Host Afcon Matches

2 Dec 10, 2021 07:29 PM in African Football

Confirmed: Nedbank Cup Dates, Times & Venues

9 Jan 25, 2022 03:12 PM in Nedbank Cup