Register Login Live

Ballon d’Or

Breaking: 3 Finalists For Fifa's The Best Men's Player Revealed, Salah Snubbed!

Fifa has announced the official three-man shortlist for The Best Men's Player 2019, and snubbed African superstar Mohamed Salah, while the finalists for the Puskas Award, the Goalkeeper of the Year and Coach of the Year accolades were also revealed.

Tired of reading? Click through the gallery above to see the three finalists for the main prize, as well as the other final nominees.

The 10-man shortlist for The Best Fifa Men's Player 2019 award was announced on 31 July, and it has now been cut down to the final three contenders.

The award is based on achievements during the period from 16 July 2018 to 19 July 2019, with the initial 10-man shortlist being compiled by a panel of experts.

Voting was then opened to four voting panels, made up fans, journalists, national coaches, and coaches, who voted for their top three.

On Monday, Fifa announced the three finalists, namely Virgil van Dijk, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Download the new Soccer Laduma Social Media App here!

Egyptian superstar Salah, though, was snubbed despite winning the Uefa Champions League with Liverpool and also claiming his second Premier League Golden Boot.

Van Dijk is the favourite to replace last year's winner Luka Modric after he was named the Uefa Men's Player of the Year last week.

Ronaldo and Messi have both won the award five times, and it remains to be seen whether or not Van Dijk can beat them to the prestigious accolade or if one of the superstar duo will become the first player to win the prize a sixth time.

Meanwhile, the three final nominees for the The Best Goalkeeper award are Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Ederson (Manchester City) and Marc-Andre ter Stegen (FC Barcelona).

The finalists for the Coach of the Year award are Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool), Pep Guardiola (Manchester City) and Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham Hotspur).

Read: UEFA Awards Winners Revealed, Messi Collects Prize But Ronaldo Snubbed

Messi was also named among the finalists for the prestigious Fifa Puskas Award, with his strike against Real Betis from last season being named one of the three best goals, alongside strikes from Juan Fernando Quintero (River Plate) and Daniel Zsori (Debrecen).

The three final nominees for Fifa's The Best Women's Player award are Lucy Bronze (Olympique Lyon), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride) and Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign).

All winners will be announced during the Fifa awards gala on 23 September in Milan, Italy.

Who do you think will lift The Best Fifa Men's Player of the Year award this year? Have your say in the comments section below.



Official: Man Utd Confirm Latest Departure


Top 5

Inside Chiefs - How Amakhosi Make Dreams Come True...

3 Feb 21, 2020 01:03 PM in Kaizer Chiefs

The Highest-Paid Players In Europe Revealed

12 Feb 11, 2020 07:14 PM in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar Watch

What FIFA Says About The Yellow Card Saga…

156 Feb 21, 2020 02:36 PM in PSL

Man City Could Be Relegated To League Two

49 Feb 17, 2020 06:28 PM in English Premier League

10 Players Missing For Nedbank Last 16

5 Feb 21, 2020 09:01 AM in Nedbank Cup

Philosophical Rhulani Stuns As He Poses Alongside R6 Million Ride

9 Feb 21, 2020 02:12 PM in Show Me The Money

4 Pipes Only: Did You See Mathoho’s Yellow Luxury Ride Squad?

1 Feb 19, 2020 08:00 AM in Stars & Their Cars

10 Images Of Teko’s Stunning New R3 Million Bentley

4 Feb 21, 2020 03:50 PM in Show Me The Money

Reports: Real & PSG Pushed UEFA To Ban Man City

18 Feb 19, 2020 09:30 AM in UEFA Champions League

What FIFA Says About The Yellow Card Saga…

156 Feb 21, 2020 02:36 PM in PSL

A Plea To Pirates About Jele…

8 Feb 21, 2020 07:50 AM in Orlando Pirates

The 10 Richest Footballers In The World

28 Nov 24, 2019 07:17 PM in World News

Khanye Confident Of A Return To Top-Flight

12 Feb 21, 2020 12:14 PM in PSL

9 Players Who Left Barca Because Of Messi

29 Nov 03, 2019 10:21 AM in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar Watch

Sundowns Closer To Top 5 In Africa

21 Feb 21, 2020 10:39 AM in Mamelodi Sundowns