Register Login Live

African Watch

10 Stars Who Were Never Crowned African Player Of The Year

On Wednesday, CAF revealed the 10 finalists for the 2019 African Player of the Year title. The winner of the award will join an illustrious club that some of the continent's greatest players never joined. Here are 10 of the brightest stars who were never crowned Africa's best player. 

Click through the gallery above to see 10 stars who never won the African Player of the Year award!

Arguably the best player never to have won the CAF African Player of the Year award is former Nigeria star Jay-Jay Okocha. The ex-Paris Saint-Germain and Bolton Wanderers star twice ended third, behind Samuel Eto'o and Didier Drogba on both occasions, but never took home the title himself. 

South Africa's own Benni McCarthy is another who can feel hard done by never to have been crowned Africa's best, particularly following his performances for Bafana Bafana at the 1998 Africa Cup of Nations, where he scored a tournament-high seven goals. The former FC Porto and Blackburn Rovers hitman never even made the podium during his career. 

Earn Airtime & Data With Soccer Laduma's Social Media App - Download Now 

Egypt is currently home to two-time reigning champion Mohamed Salah but the North African giants have had a number of stars who were unfortunate not to have claimed the honour over the years. Chief among them is Mohamed Aboutrika, who was runner-up to Emmanuel Adebayor in 2008

The likes of Andre Ayew and Asamoah Gyan are still active, but are unlikely to challenge for the award in future. Ayew came close to getting his hands on the accolade in 2015, when he ended in third place behind Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Yaya Toure, while Gyan was runner-up to Eto'o in 2010.  

Read: CAF Names 10-Man Shortlist For African Player Of The Year

Other legends of the game, such as Kolo Toure and Michael Essien, also feature in the list, which you can view in full by scrolling through the gallery above!

Who do you think will win the 2019 African Player of the Year award? Share your thoughts by commenting in the section below. 


Liverpool Confirm 23-Man Squad For Club World Cup


Top 5

Mogaila And 4 Others Linked With A Move To Chiefs?

21 Jan 25, 2020 03:15 PM in Kaizer Chiefs

UEFA Announce 2019 Team Of The Year, Salah Snubbed

14 Jan 15, 2020 02:46 PM in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar Watch

Highlands Set Record Straight On Rulani Talk!

38 Jan 24, 2020 01:52 PM in PSL

The 10 Richest Clubs In The World Revealed

17 Jan 14, 2020 12:27 PM in World News

Gallery: Sundowns' Preparations In Angola

15 Jan 24, 2020 12:17 PM in Mamelodi Sundowns

Bold New R4m Bentley For Bafana Star

5 Jan 24, 2020 11:00 AM in Show Me The Money

Eight Deals At Chiefs? - Talks Open Up At Naturena

103 Jan 21, 2020 02:25 PM in Kaizer Chiefs

Mogaila And 4 Others Linked With A Move To Chiefs?

21 Jan 25, 2020 03:15 PM in Kaizer Chiefs

The 10 Longest Unbeaten Runs In EPL History

4 Jan 23, 2020 08:03 PM in English Premier League

Motupa Breaks Silence On Downs Interest

70 Jan 23, 2020 03:38 PM in PSL

The 10 Richest Footballers In The World

28 Nov 24, 2019 07:17 PM in World News

Behind The Scenes: Details Of Pirates Defender’s Move…

7 Jan 24, 2020 08:09 AM in Orlando Pirates

9 Players Who Left Barca Because Of Messi

29 Nov 03, 2019 10:21 AM in Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar Watch

Amakhosi Star Opens Up On Chiefs Award

2 Jan 24, 2020 10:01 AM in Kaizer Chiefs