An ex-Ghana international has revealed what Daniel Amartey told him about the controversial penalty he won against Bafana Bafana on Sunday.
The Leicester City defender was adjudged to have been fouled in the opposition box in the first half of their 1-0 victory over South Africa, a result that saw Ghana reach the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualification play-offs.
Controversy surrounded the match official's decision, though, with many believing Amartey conned the referee into blowing for a penalty, while others have suggested something more sinister.
Below are the 10 largest stadiums in Africa:
In response to the incident, SAFA revealed that they had filed a formal complaint to FIFA and CAF, with CEO Tebogo Motlanthe saying there is reason to believe the game was "fixed".
Meanwhile, former Black Stars international Awudu Issaka has claimed to have spoken to Amartey after the game, saying that the Premier League man insisted he was fouled.
"After the game, I asked (Daniel) Amartey about the penalty," he said on Angel TV, according to Ghanaian journalist Saddick Adams.
"He told me he was pulled. He said the South African defender held his hand at the back and pulled him but left it when he was falling off.
"The camera didn't capture that."
Click through the gallery below to see the incident in pictures: